baby andoo



Play Kitchen

play kitchen

The play kitchen I made for my daughter.  I have no prior experience, so if I can do it anyone can.

I made the frame  by adapting an Ikea, Vika Furusund.  I had to drill some new holes to fit the unit together and I trimmed a few inches from the fridge door.  Everything was assembled using wood glue, finishing nails and screws.  The hardest part was installing the hinges.  That was trial and error. Well everything was trial and error. The kitchen dimensions are 27″ wide X 22″ tall X 10″ deep. This is how I did it:

4 boards, 22″ X 10″  frame of the kitchen
1 board 20″ X 10″    fridge door
1 board 10″ X 9″   fridge shelf
1 MDF board, 15″ X 3″  small shelf
1/4″ backer board, 27″ X 32″
1 board, 15″ X 13″  oven door
1 board, 15″ X 10″  oven base
1 piece 2 1/4 inch window casing trim, this makes the apron, one day I will put the oven knobs on

Frame of Unit – Vika furusund, Ikea
Handles – Glitter, Ikea
Knife Rack – Astker, Ikea
Magnetic Containers – Grundtal, Ikea
Plexy glass – Home Depot
Paint – Home Depot
Hinges – Home Depot
Dowels and Caps – Michaels Crafts
The burners are coasters – Home Outfitters
Cup hooks – Home Depot
Puck light – Sylvania
Fabric swatch – Sandi Henderson, Petal Party
Sink – Cake Tin, Save on Foods
Tea Set – The Princess and the Pea, Edmonton
I used scraps from Home Depot, they cut them to the dimensions I needed in the store.  They were very helpful.

I made the faucet with a 1 and 1/2 inch dowel, the smaller dowel sticking out is 5/8th inch.  I drilled a hole into larger dowel and inserted the small dowel.  The ‘taps’ are the 1 1/2 inch dowel cut down to 2″. I glued dowel caps on top for a clean finish.

Now all I need to do is make knobs for the controls.

img_00181

side1

original

This is what the Ikea piece should have looked like.

The Frame

on-its-way1

Almost Done

The Burners on

My daughter loves to remove the burners, glad I didn’t glue them on.

img_00161

keep-it-off-the-toes

It was really important that the oven door be safe, so I added a lid catch to keep it from falling open.  I also added a puck light inside the oven.

puck-light-in-the-oven

inside-of-fridge

faucets

knife-rack

The magnetic knife rack.

img_9990


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. What’s cooking? | Quality Furniture pingbacked on 5 years, 6 months ago
  2. IKEA Denver Home Furnishings · IKEA Denver pingbacked on 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. Kinderküche : Butterflyfish pingbacked on 5 years, 6 months ago
  4. What’s cooking? « tissue paper pingbacked on 5 years, 6 months ago
  5. I 5 migliori link per costruire una cucina giocattolo faidate : Mamma Felice pingbacked on 5 years, 5 months ago
  6. Playtime: child’s table and chair makeover | Florence Firenze pingbacked on 5 years, 4 months ago
  7. Bambino Goodies » Great Ikea Hack: Build your own pretend play kitchen from Vika Furusund pingbacked on 4 years, 12 months ago
  8. IKEA Play Kitchens - AWESOME IKEA Hacks Inside! » IKEA FANS | THE IKEA Fan Community pingbacked on 4 years, 7 months ago
  9. Let’s Get Cooking … » pingbacked on 4 years, 2 months ago
  10. Let’s Get Cooking … Take 2 » Two Little Dicky Birds.html pingbacked on 4 years, 2 months ago
  11. What’s cooking? | Decoration and furniture ideas pingbacked on 3 years, 9 months ago
  12. What’s cooking? | Miami Landscape Gardening - All Construction News pingbacked on 3 years, 6 months ago
  13. Play Kitchens For Girls – What Else You Need to Know » Martina Dotson pingbacked on 3 years, 6 months ago
  14. get traffic travis 4 pro pingbacked on 3 years, 5 months ago
  15. A critical appraisal of my major works to date « Dilly Tante pingbacked on 3 years, 2 months ago
  16. Play Kitchen Inspiration | Boulder Moms Connect pingbacked on 3 years ago
  17. Ikea Hack Inspired Play Kitchen « The Laundry List pingbacked on 2 years, 10 months ago

Comments

  1. * Sassy says:

    Sounds like lots of work but what wonderful results!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  2. * Jane says:

    Awesome job! I recently made a play kitchen and I used some wooden wheels that came in a bag at Michaels. I put some felt on the bottom and used screws to hold them in. The felt made it easy to turn them. LOVE your fridge with the racks on the door!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      I e-mailed you. Sorry I should have made it more clear, I saw you kitchen on Flickr. Your kitchen really inspired me. Thank you so much.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Lina says:

    That is sooooo cute!!! Great work!! Have a great weekend!! xx Lina

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  4. * Lia says:

    This is so beautiful!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  5. * lonnstrom says:

    First saw your post on ikea hacker. Wow-extremely impressive! Fantastic job!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  6. * Anki says:

    I love this playkitchen! It’s awsome! My daughter has the same tea for two set but in pink and green.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  7. * Frau Haase says:

    Wow, great kitchen!!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  8. * Katie says:

    This is one of the most awesome things I’ve ever seen! You are genius! I’ve wanted to get a play kitchen for my kids but even the Target one is over 80 bucks. How much did this end up costing you? It looks awesome! Great job!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hello and thank you. It was not cheap, I had to buy tools. But if you don’t have to buy tools and leave out the accessories it would not be too bad. Good luck.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  9. * Amy says:

    I love your kitchen! You went to a lot of work, and it’s beautiful! :)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
  10. * subversivesewer says:

    thank you so much for posting this! My daughter and I just love it! I just got a drill and I am going to make this too, since you said you were able to do it yourself with no experience!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 7 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hello. That’s great to hear. I would love to see photos when you are done. My father in law routered the oven window. Home Depot was not able to help me with that. Luckily my father in law had a router. Also, make sure you drill pilot holes first the wood could split otherwise. Good luck.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  11. * Jenn says:

    WOW! You did an incredible job. It is absolutely darling. Very creative and resourceful. You inspire me!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  12. This is absolutely fantastic! I want to play too!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  13. * Natalia says:

    WOW! just WOW!

    So very beautiful! Better than ANYTHING I’ve seen on sale!

    Great job (and good luck with your blog)

    I will be checking back to see what else you are up to :)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  14. * Sarah says:

    Absolutely fabulous!!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  15. * Chelsea says:

    I just saw this on Ikea Hacker. This is so awesome. My daughter spotted the picture and said “I want that.” She speaks for both of us!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  16. I saw your play kitchen over on Ikeahacks, and wanted to tell you that this is absolutely the cutest one I’ve ever seen!!! Can’t wait to make one for my granddaughter. Thanks for sharing!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  17. Great Job, it is much more attractive and meaningful than “store bought”. My mother also picked up a hammer and saw when I was young. She did it to to make things we couldn’t afford or that she felt weren’t worth the money to buy. We felt pretty special to have someone take the time to make us such great things . Her friends thought she was crazy, but all my friends thought she was the coolest . You have a lucky daughter.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  18. * darlene says:

    awesome … it’s absolutely darling and i know your daughter loves it … i’m forwarding this to my daughter (the one with two daughters) … hopefully she will love to make this, too … thanks for the hack …

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  19. * carol ewers says:

    wow what a super kitchen you made. any little girl would love it. great job

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  20. * Vera says:

    Wow, it’s absolutely gorgeous! You did a wonderful job – I would have loved to get something like this as a young girl :)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  21. WOWZERS!!! what an awesome kitchen!!! can I post a picture and a link to your site on my blog??? This is fantastic.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hello, sure I would be flattered. Thank-you.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  22. * zobars says:

    You should start selling these. First time on your blog. found you thru ikeahacker. I am in love with this kitchen. my daughter would love this one.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  23. * Lyndsay says:

    I absolutely love this and am in the process of making one just like it. Where did you get the containers that you used on the door of the fridge ? It looks like you cut them in half and attached them, but where did you get them ?? Thanks !

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Submitted on 2009/02/24 at 5:32pm
      Hi, they are Melissa and Doug here is a link.

      http://www.melissaanddoug.com/dyn_prod.php?p=271&k=87136&name=Food%20Groups

      I sacrificed two boxes. They were cut in half, the ends provided “slats” to anchor the boxes in place. I will provide a picture. The slat is unpainted. The boxes are just glued on, that is why the slat was necessary. Please show me pictures when you are done. How exciting!!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  24. * iNa says:

    oh wow.. nicely done!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  25. fantastic :)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  26. * LindaS says:

    Best one Ive seen by far! Just fantastic!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  27. * Lissy says:

    Absolutely amazing….I have been thinking of trying something like this and now I am inspired…thanks :)

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  28. * sbm says:

    This kitchen is incredible… very inspiring!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  29. * Abby says:

    That is just fantastic! One of the best ideas, not to mention the quality. You have done such a great job. I want to make one too!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  30. * viola says:

    Großartig!!!!
    Viele Grüße aus Deutschland

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Danke schon!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  31. * Alison says:

    Fantastic!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  32. * Abby says:

    Thank you for the inspiration, I loved your kitchen so much I decided to have a go myself. Here is the link for the photos:

    http://twolittledickybirds.blogspot.com/2009/03/lets-get-cooking-take-2.html .

    I also included a blog entry about your kitchen:

    http://twolittledickybirds.blogspot.com/2009/02/lets-get-cooking.html

    I hope that is okay? Please let me know if not :)

    Kind regards, Abby.

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Your kitchen looks great, and your little chef is adorable. Thanks for the photos!!

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 6 months ago
  33. This is absolutely brilliant! Your sister just commented on my blog with a suggestion to check this out…YAY!!! I´m so inspired I may just finish my daughters yet! Thank you sooo much for sharing!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  34. Sorry..actually it was your cousin-in-law Shelley, who directed me here…brain low on fuel!

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      That’s great. Please say hi to Shelly for me.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  35. * Zeba says:

    I love this kitchen. What exactly did you use for the kitchen sink ?

    | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Thank you. It is a stainless steel cake pan. I bought it at Save on Foods.

      | Reply Posted 5 years, 3 months ago
  36. * helen says:

    Hiya, love this kitchen!! You’ve inspired me to make this for my nephew!! Wht type of hinges did you use and does the lid stay help slow the oven door from falling down when you open it?

    | Reply Posted 5 years ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Thank you. Oh the hinges, the worst part. I think they were called, butt hinges.

      | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  37. * Doc Dave says:

    A real work of love and art!

    I still think that this is out of reach of an average joe or jill. You seem to have some heavyduty woodworking equipment, I see a sander in one of the pics. The oven and fridge doors are the major installations from what I can see.

    Don’t know if this was around when you were making this, but ikea now has a mini-kitchen:

    http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70129801

    unfortunately, at 99 usd, with an additional/optional 40 usd for the hutch, you’re probably better off with a kidkraft.

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  38. * Brooke says:

    WOW! Been looking for something great like this for my kids! Now I think maybe I can do it myself! I want to try and make the back taller to add a microwave above the sink maybe? Awesome job though!! Thanks for the inspiration!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 11 months ago
  39. * Brandi says:

    I LOVE this! I plan to make it for my 3 year old for Christmas. One quick question, though. Where did you get the baskets that you use for the refrigerator? Thanks so much for the inspiration!

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 9 months ago
  40. * Jenn says:

    Hi! Just wanted to let you know that I’ve got a new FEATURED BUTTON & will be starting my new MckLinky party TOT TUESDAYS next week. I’d love it if you’d stop by & link up: http://delicious-ambiguity-nennyk.blogspot.com/2010/03/new-buttons-party.html

    | Reply Posted 4 years, 6 months ago
  41. * mammabrico says:

    Really so lovely!
    I’ve made my own low cost kitchen wooden toy starting from a bedside table Ikea

    http://www.nannabobo.com/diy-kitchen-wooden-toy

    enjoy!

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago
  42. Wonderful job and thanks for including the pictures of how you made it. It’s very well done :)

    Heating Services

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 10 months ago
  43. * Jennie says:

    I was wondering where you got the sink? I know you said “save on foods”; however, I was wondering what it was? Was it packaged as a play sink, a dish, or some kind of casserole pan?

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 9 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hi, It’s a stainless steel cake tin.

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago
  44. * Jenn says:

    Do you mind me asking the cost for you too build it? Did it come out about the same or more than the IKEA version?

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 8 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hi, it was more expensive than Ikea’s play kitchen, but it was a satisfying project. Also, Ikea didn’t have their play kitchen when I made this.

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 7 months ago
  45. * julie kuhneman says:

    do they still have these cabinets at ikea? I’m trying to find the one you used but can’t? I’d love to have a go too:)

    | Reply Posted 3 years, 6 months ago
    • * blachindle says:

      Hi I’m not sure. It was a table leg that you could add any desk top to.

      | Reply Posted 3 years, 5 months ago
  46. * Natalie says:

    Thank you. I want to try to do it myself.

    | Reply Posted 2 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

